Sometimes it may be quicker for you to clone a shift template, rather than create a new one. You can clone the template if you're setting up the site where different jobs have either the same rules, the same rates, or both. You can also clone the template to different sites if your client applies the same rules or rates at different locations.


How to clone a template

Go to Plan > Shift templates and click 'Clone' next to the relevant template name.

You'll see a pop up window where you can insert the name of your new template (1), choose if you'd like to copy all the workers links across (2) and select a site you'd like to clone the template to (3)

1) Template name - duplicate template names are not allowed within one site, however if you're cloning the template to a different site, you can use the same name. This way, it's easier for you to recognise different templates in the planning screen. 

2) Clone the worker links - only clone the worker links if the same group of workers will be working on the new shift template. (This only applies to users who plan their workers using on-site planning tool - not branch).

3) Clone template for site - Pick the site you'd like to clone your template to. If you're cloning within the same site, you still need to pick the site from the list.

You can then make any required changes to your new template, and start using it straight away!


Updating your existing templates

If you only want to update the rates/rules in your existing template, or set up temporary rates (i.e. for peak season) on your existing template, you'd need to use the 'clone version' option instead. For more info on how to do this, please see the below article instead:


Did this answer your question?